Articles, Confidence, Environment,, Goals, Health, Lifestyle, Mental Health, Relationships, Thinking Positive

All About The 5 Love Languages

Have you ever heard of a “love language?” If not, a love language refers to what makes a person feel the most loved! There are a total of 5 love languages, including: acts of service, words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, and physical touch.

Dr. Gary Chapman, a Baptist Minister and marriage counselor, wrote a book called The Five Love Languages to explain how it’s important to recognize the ways your partner/friend/relative/etc. feels the most loved. Whether that’s through a hug, a thoughtful gift, a genuine compliment, completing a crummy task they’ve been avoiding, or having a deep conversation one-on-one with them. Keep scrolling to discover how you feel the most loved in a relationship!

1 – Acts of Service

You may have heard the expression, “actions speak louder than words.” For those whose love language is acts of service, this is certainly the case. They feel especially loved and appreciated when their partner/friend/relative/etc. goes out of their way to do tasks for them, such as making their favorite dinner, folding their laundry, mowing their lawn, etc. If you know someone with this love language, try to pay attention to what tasks have been overburdening them and do them to make them feel loved. 🙂 

2 – Words of Affirmation

Those with the “words of affirmation” love language feel the most loved when a partner/friend/relative/etc. speaks kind words or compliments them. They appreciate being encouraged, affirmed, empathized, and listened to. A few ways to express love to those with this love language are by sending an unexpected note or text or encouraging them often. Phrases such as “I am thankful that you…” or “I am proud of you because…” also make those with this love language feel loved. 🙂 

3 – Quality Time

Of course, quality time is vital for all relationships, but it’s especially important to those with this love language. It’s easy to get confused on what exactly quality time is…quality time is not about all of the activities you do with another person; it’s about how you spend time with that person. If you are attentive and focused during the time together, that person is definitely going to feel loved. A few ways to ensure those with this love language feel loved are initiating one-on-one, deep conversations or creating special moments together, no matter how small or large. 

4 – Receiving Gifts

I think I can assume most of us love getting a gift, but those with this love language really love receiving gifts. However, it’s not the monetary value of the gift that they appreciate. They appreciate the thoughtfulness and time behind the gift. They recognize the important steps of the gift-giving process and feel greatly loved that their partner/friend/relative/etc. carefully thought of an item with emotional significance. A few ways to display your love to those with this love language is by purchasing a gift that is meaningful to them, such as a coffee mug with a cute inside joke on it or some cookies you remember them enjoying. 

5 – Physical Touch

Last but not least is physical touch! This refers to expressing and receiving affection through non-verbal communication, such as a hug, hand-holding, kissing, or a simple hand on the shoulder. These physical touches can strengthen the bond between people and it helps those with this love language feel the most loved. A few ways to express your love to someone who loves physical touch is giving their hand a squeeze during moments of tension or embracing them in a hug the next time you see them. 

People need all of the 5 love languages to feel loved, but each of us has a favorite that makes us feel the most loved and appreciated. If you aren’t quite sure what your love language is, feel free to take this quiz by Dr. Gary Chapman, author of The 5 Love Languages. Don’t forget to pay attention to what your partner/friend/relative’s love language is as well and express it to them the next time you see them. 🙂

Thank you for reading and remember that you are loved so much!

<3, Lauren

You may also like


  • TG

    Very lovely. My language is probably quality time.

    January 20, 2024 at 10:07 am
  • Jaina Noelle

    This is great! I love some good quality time

    January 22, 2024 at 3:04 pm
  • Mary Cate Cone

    Love this! My love language is mostly words of affirmation :).

    February 6, 2024 at 7:34 pm
  • Natalyn Baker

    This article is so sweet, Lauren! I love acts of service and quality time!

    February 25, 2024 at 11:48 am
  • Leave a Reply