Browsing Tag:


  • Articles,, Sports

    Introducing F1 Academy: Formula One Race Car Driving

    Introducing F1 Academy

    Introducing F1 Academy

    Formula One is the highest class of international racing for open-wheel single seater racing cars. The sport is highly regarded as the pinnacle of motorsport, however since its inaugural season in 1950 only five women have competed in a race. But in November 2022, F1 announced F1 Academy, a racing series specifically focusing on women. The goal is to prepare women into higher levels of racing competitions.  

    Susie Wolff

    In March 2023, Susie Wolff, a former professional racing driver, was announced as the managing director. Wolff became the first woman in 20 years to drive in a F1 race weekend during the 2014 British Grand Prix when she participated in a practice session. She was previously the Team Principal for Venturi Racing and was later promoted to CEO.  

    How Does F1 Work?

    The series consists of five teams that are currently entered in Formula 2 and Formula 3, other racing series that aim to help younger drivers break into higher racing series. Each team is allowed to enter 3 cars, making up a 15 car grid. The five teams in the 2024 season are ART Grand Prix, Campos Racing, Rodin Carlin, MP Motorsport, and Prema Racing. In addition, all 10 Formula One teams will have their liveries and a driver in the series. The remaining five drivers are sponsored by various companies. 

    For the 2024 season, races will be taking place on select F1 weekends. During the weekends, wildcard entries were added to “promote regional talent” and “increase the talent pool.” The current calendar features races in Jeddah, Miami, Barcelona, Zandvoort, Singapore, Lusail, and Abu Dhabi.  


    Campos Racing:  

    14- Chloe Chambers (sponsored by Haas)  

    15- Carrie Schreiner (sponsored by Kick Sauber)  

    30-Nerea Martí 


    MP Motorsport: 

    7-Emely de Heus 

    8-Hamda Al Qubaisi (sponsored by Red Bull Racing)  

    88-Amna Al Qubaisi (sponsored by Red Bull Junior Team)  


    ART Grand Prix:  

    16- Bianca Bustamante (sponsored by McLaren)  

    22- Aurelia Nobels  

    57- Lia Block (sponsored by Williams) 


    Rodin Carlin:  

    3- Lola Lovinfosse 

    9- Abbi Pulling (sponsored by Alpine)  

    17- Jessica Edgar 


    Prema Racing:  

    19- Tina Hausmann (sponsored by Aston Martin)  

    28- Doriane Pin (sponsored by Mercedes)  

    64- Maya Weug (sponsored by Ferrari)  


    After one race, Abbi Pulling is the current championship leader with 44 points and 1 win. Maya Weug is in 2nd place with 33 points. The next race will be on May 4 at the Miami International Autodrome.